Adview is a Hootsuite app that makes reading and replying to comments made on Facebook and Instagram ads easy.
1. Authorizing with Facebook and initial setup
When you first install the app, you will be asked to Login with Facebook, and approve the permissions we need to get your ads and allow you to reply to them.
Once you have authorized Adview on Facebook, a list of your Facebook Ad Accounts will be displayed:
Select the accounts you want to monitor ads for by clicking the check box to the right of the Ad Account. You can manage your Ad Accounts later by clicking the settings icon in the app's menu, and then next clicking the Manage Ad Accounts button.
Once you have selected the Ad Accounts you want to monitor, click the Search icon in the app menubar to configure what you want to view in-stream:
Here you can select individual Ad Accounts to view comments from, as well as filter by:
- Individual pages
- Network, i.e. Instagram or Facebook
- Comment status, i.e. read/not read/replied
- Hidden or deleted comments
Initially you may not see any comments in-stream. If you currently do not have any active ads, this will be the case. If you do have active ads, new comments will appear when we retrieve them.
You may also add a stream name for the current stream. This name will be displayed next to Adview at the top of the stream. For example, if you name your stream UK ads, you will see the following at the top of the stream:
Also, if you are the Administrator of your organization/team, and you have shared your ad accounts with team members (see the Teams section below for more info), adding a stream name will automatically share the settings for this stream with team members.
2. In-stream options.
Once we have retrieved your first set of comments, comments will begin to appear as below:
The icons at the bottom of each comment have the following functions:
Reply to this comment
Show only comments for this ad
Mark the comment read/unread
Save the comment to Evernote, OneNote and Pocket
Hide/unhide the comment
Delete the comment
If a comment has been hidden, it will be grayed out, with the word HIDDEN in the top right corner:
If a comment has been hidden, you can only choose to unhide it or delete it.
If a comment has been deleted, it will be in red, with the word DELETED in the top right corner:
If a comment has been deleted, there are no options to choose from.
Replying to comments
If you find a comment that you would like to reply to, click the Reply icon at the bottom of the current item. Clicking it will display a popup where you can enter a reply:
You can enter new text, or, choose to use a template for your reply by selecting one from the template menu at the bottom of the popup.
After you have replied to a comment, a Replied tag will appear next to the comment's date in-stream:
Templates are an easy way to create reusable content. To create a template, first click the settings menu icon, and then next, click the Template Manager button:
The Template Manager popup will then be displayed:
Templates can consist of text and images, only text, or only an image. Select what you would like to include in your template by clicking the check and times icons below each content type. Once saved, templates will appear in the Send reply popup which is displayed when you reply to a comment.
Templates for Instagram replies can consist of text only. Templates which contain images will not be displayed when replying to an Instagram comment.
Also, when an Administrator creates templates to use when replying to ad comments, the templates will be shared with all team members.
Clicking the Analytics icon in the app menu will display analytics for your Ad accounts:
You can select which account to view results for, as well as refine results by date. Clicking the download icon will allow you to download the report in PDF or CSV formats.
Adview makes it easy to share your Ad accounts with Hootsuite team members, but before you start, the following two criteria must be met:
i) You must have a Team, Business or Enterprise Hootsuite account
ii) You must be an administrator for your organization/team on Hootsuite. This allows Adview to get a list of the team members in your organization/team.
Once you've cleared the above requirements, click the Share accounts button under the settings menu, and the following popup will be displayed:
The dropdown menu at the top contains a list of your Facebook Ad accounts. Select the Ad account you would like to share with your team members from the dropdown, and then click the plus sign next to the team of the member(s) you would like to share the selected Ad account with. After you have clicked the plus sign, a list of the members will be displayed.
Select the members you would like to share the Ad account with, and you're done. Now, when your team member logs into Hootsuite, they will be able to read, reply and manage comments made on your Ad account's ads.
Sharing Templates with Team Members
When an Administrator creates templates to use when replying to ad comments, the templates will be shared with all team members. Team members are not able to edit the templates, however they may use them when replying to comments. Only the Team Administrator can edit shared templates. However, it is possible for individual team members to create and edit their own templates.
NOTE: templates created by a team member who is not an admin will not be shared with other users.
Sharing Stream Settings with Team Members
Administrators of teams can share the stream settings with team members simply by adding a stream name to their current stream, and then clicking the Search button, which will then save and share the settings:
Now, when a team member adds a new Adview stream to their dashboard, the user will be asked if they want to use the settings of a shared stream:
The team member can then select the stream name from the dropdown, and then click the button to have the stream settings replicated in the current stream. The option to select a shared stream is only available when adding a new Adview stream.
NOTE: it is not possible to replicate an entire board containing multiple streams. Each team member must create a new board, add individual Adview streams, and them select which stream settings they would like to use in the current stream.
Have more questions? Please contact us at: